The Texas Church Ushers


In 1926, church ushers from Dallas and Ft. Worth met in Dallas and organized the Texas Church Ushers. George T. Jenkins a member of the St. John Baptist Church, Dallas led this organization effort. The Texas cities who accepted the invitation to join were: Austin, Waco, Wichita Falls, Houston, Beaumont, San Antonio, and Nacogdoches. In the 1940-1950 years, the following cities joined: Amarillo, Longview, Marshall, Terrell, Kilgore, Overton, Port Arthur, Henderson, Corpus Christi, Hearne, Branchville, Mexia, Tatum, Palestine, Clarksville, Gladewater, Teague, Hempstead, Rusk, Troup, Abilene, Sherman, Killeen.



The goal of the founder of the organization was to make every city in Texas a member of the Texas Church Ushers. This is still a dream that is alive in the hearts and minds of the current membership.


Still today the Texas Church Ushers promotes Christian fellowship. Ushers gather for the Annual Convention that includes General Sessions, School of Ushering, Training and Development and many other activities. These fellowships give one the opportunity to express the goodness of the Lord.

Texas Church Ushers

Past & Present Presidents


Some of the Past Presidents include:  A.W. Briggs – Dallas, W.D. Kirkpatrick- Ft. Worth, L.B. (Swifty) Davis – Longview, Fred Moore – Austin, Frank Vaughn – Ft. Worth, Fred D. White – Marshall, R. H. Hickman – Houston, William Berry – Terrell, W.C. Owens – Kilgore, Willie L. Lacy – Dallas, W.W. Brown – Henderson, Delma Ward – Amarillo, Leo Terry – San Antonio, Arthur Jackson – Austin, Alvin Stewart – Dallas, E. E. Owens – Amarillo, George A. Faber, Sr. – Kilgore, Milton Berry Jr. – Austin, Fredrick Gilliam – Houston, Joe Prelow – Dallas, Anthony Williams – Port Arthur, Frankie Beck – Houston, Richard Wright - Sherman, George Merida – Dallas and our current President is Ricky Prater  - Port Arthur. Your support of the current President and officers would be greatly appreciated.

U.S. Congresswoman from the State of TX served as a Youth Ushers. In 1952 she won First Place during Speaker’s Bureau (Education Department) held at the Greater Bethesda Baptist Church in Chicago, IL.

Other men and women who helped TX move forward and progress are: William Berry, Arthur Jackson, L.B. “Swifty” Davis, A.W. Briggs and George Faber, and Pauline E. Young all were National Vice Presidents, Velma Lacey and George Faber served as National Parliamentarians. L.B. “Swifty” Davis and George Faber were Regional Organizers.  George Faber also served as the National Doorkeeper, National, Regional, and State Board of Directors, Emily Hicks and Edith Rector were Chairmen of the Arts and Crafts Department, Valverda Lemons, Evelyn Washington and Lula Mae Woodward Past National Board

Member, Isaiah Tatum Past National School of Ushering Chairman and Halson National Board of Directors.

The State of TX is proud of the following who have served as National Young Adult Presidents Edith Clark, Rev. Lamar Jones, Shawn Wright.and Christi Justice.


We are Proud of Destine Merida - Dallas, who served as the National Junior and Young People President from 2013 - 2015.